Another twist in men’s four tale

GB Rowing has made a further change in the men’s four for the season’s second world cup in Lucerne (May 30 – 1 June).  Andy Hodge is nursing an injury and Colin Smith moves from the stroke seat of the Munich eight to replace him.   Tom Lucy is still on board with Tom James not quite back to full fitness.

The GB Women’s quad – Camelot-backed and world champions –  remain unchanged after their victory in Munich 10 days ago.

GB Rowing’s other three winners at the opening world cup have the same line up too –  the lightweight men’s double, featuring Zac Purchase and Mark Hunter,  Alan Campbell in the men’s single and Matt Wells and Stephen Rowbotham in the men’s double .  These crews are all Siemens-backed.

Alastair Heathcote, injured for Munich, returns to his 2007 seat as stroke of the men’s eight who were silver medal winners without him in Munich. 

The lightweight men’s four, world champions in 2007 and silver medal winners in Munich earlier this month, will be seeking to return to winning ways in this highly-competitive boat class are unchanged.  So too are the open weight men’s quad who will be looking to impress the selectors and gain an entry to the final Olympic Qualification Regatta in Poznan in mid June.

Elise Laverick and Anna Bebington have renewed their 2007 world championships partnership in the women’s double scull whilst Sarah Winckless races in the single.

Alison Knowles and Natasha Howard return from injury to take up seats in the women’s eight and a new pair has been formed with Louisa Reeve and 2007 World Under 23 Champion, Olivia Whitlam.

GB also fields a new lightweight women’s double scull with Laura Greenhalgh joining Helen Casey. 

Full results:



GB CREW LISTS (listed from bow to stroke with clubs/home towns/dates of birth)

Munich World Cup 2008




Louisa Reeve (Leander/London/16.05.84/)/
Olivia Whitlam( Agecroft/Warrington 16.09.85)

Coach John Keogh


Beth Rodford (Thames RC/Burton-on-Trent/ 28.12.82)/
Carla Ashford (Oxford Brookes BC/Northallerton/13.03.79)/
Alice Freeman (Wallingford RC/Oxford/06.09.78)/
Natasha Page (Reading Uni/Hartpury/30.04.85)/
Natasha Howard (Tideway Scullers/West Runton/3.9.80)/
Alison Knowles (Thames RC/Bournemouth/27.3.82)/
Katie Greves (Leander Club/Oxford/02.09.82)/
Jess Eddie (Uni of London/Durham/07.10.84)/
Caroline O’Connor (Oxford Brookes/Ealing/25.04.83) (cox)

Coach: John Keogh

Single scull (two boats)

Sarah Winckless (Walbrook & Royal/Henley/18.10.73)

Coach: Eira Parry

Tina Stiller (Nottingham RC/Yarm, N.Yorks/23.6.87)

Coach: Miles Forbes-Thomas

Double scull

Elise Laverick (Thames RC/Poling, W.Sussex/27.07.75)/
Anna Bebington (Leander Club/Leek, Staffs/13.2.83)

Coach: Miles Forbes Thomas

Quadruple scull

Annie Vernon (Marlow RC/Wadebridge/01.09.82)/
Debbie Flood (Leander Club/Leeds/27.02.80)/
Frances Houghton (Tyrian Club (Uni of London)/Oxford/19.09.80)/
Katherine Grainger (St Andrews BC/Aberdeen/12.11.75)

Coach: Paul Thompson


Pair (two boats)

Toby Garbett (Leander Club/Woking, Surrey/14.11.76)/
Marcus Bateman (Leander Club/Torquay/16.09.82)

Oli Moore (OUBC/Burford/22.12.85) /
Tom Parker (Oxford Brookes/Winchester/24.10.82)

Coach: Jonny Singfield

Four (2 boats)


Tom Lucy (Oxford Brookes/Monmouth/01.05.88)/
Steve Williams (Leander Club/Cheltenham/15.04.76)/
Peter Reed (Leander Club/Nailsworth,Glos/27.07.81)/
Colin Smith (Leander/Henley on Thames/23.09.83)

Coach: Jurgen Grobler

Under 23s

Will Laughton (Uni of London/Douglas IOM/18.6.87)
Cameron Nichol (Uni of London/London/26/06/87)
Dan Ritchie (Reading Uni/Herne Bay Kent/06/01/87)
Mo Sbihi (Molesey BC/Surbiton/27.03.88)

Coach: Peter Sheppard


Robin Bourne-Taylor (Army RC/Oxford/22.07.81)/
Tom Stallard (Leander/Welwyn, Herts/11.09.78)/
Matt Langridge(Leander Club/Northwich/20.05.83)/
Tom Solesbury (Molesey BC/Petts Wood, Kent/23.09.80)/
Josh West (Leander/Santa Fe, USA/25.03.77)/
Richard Egington (Leander/Knutsford/26.02.79)/
Alex Partridge (Leander Club/Alton, Hants/25.01.81)/
Alastair Heathcote (Army RC/London/18.8.77)/
Acer Nethercott (University College Oxford BC/Harlow/28.11.77) cox)

Coaches: Mark Banks, John West

Single Scull (two boats)

Alan Campbell (Tideway Scullers/Coleraine/09.05.83)

Charles Cousins (Reading Uni/Cambridge/13.12.88)

Coach: Bill Barry

Double Scull

Matt Wells (Leander Club/Hexham, Northumberland/19.04.79)/
Stephen Rowbotham (Leander Club/Winscombe, Somerset/11.11.81)

Coach: Mark Earnshaw

Quadruple scull

Alex Gregory (Reading Uni/Wormington/11.03.84)/
Sam Townsend (Reading Uni/Reading/26.11.85)/
Bill Lucas (Reading Uni/Dartmouth/13.09.87)/
Simon Fieldhouse (Molesey/Thames Ditton/04.09.76)

Coach: Adrian Cassidy



Single scull

Andrea Dennis (Wallingford RC/Oxford/03.01.82)

Coach: Rob Morgan

Double scull

Helen Casey (Wallingford RC/Oxford/06.02.74)/
Laura Greenhalgh (Reading Uni/Oxford/02.09.85)

Coach: Rob Morgan



Chris Bartley (Leander/Chester 2.2.84)/
Rob Williams (London RC/Maidenhead/21.01.85)

Coach: Robin Williams


Richard Chambers (Oxford Brookes/Coleraine/10.06.85)/
James Lindsay-Fynn (London/Trim/29.09.75)/
Paul Mattick (Wallingford/Oxford/25.04.78)/
James Clarke (London RC/London/31.12.84)

Coach: Robin Williams

Double scull

Zac Purchase (Marlow RC/Tewkesbury, Glos/02.05.86)/
Mark Hunter (Leander Club/Romford, Essex/01.07.78)

Coach: Darren Whiter


Support our sport with a Community membership

Our new Community membership supports those who support rowing with exclusive prizes, discounts and much, much more.

Join today!