GB Team announced for 2016 EUSA Games

A squad of 127 rowers and 19 coaches will form the British delegation to compete at the European Universities Games in Zagreb, Croatia next month. The squad, which is from 15 different Universities, is the largest British team since 2010, the year in which GB last won the prestigious EUSA Salver.


Many of the rowers announced by the BOA last week who will represent Team GB at this summer’s Rio Olympic Games have previously competed at the EUSA Championships including Mark Aldred & Polly Swann (2009), John Collins & Alan Sinclair (2011) and, most recently, Stewart Innes (2014) who has since gone on to win medals at the European and World Championships.

James Lee has been appointed as Team Manager, and said: “It shows the depth of university rowing in Britain that we have managed to pull together such a large and strong team for the Championships – I’m looking forward to working with the crews and coaches at the Championships.”

At last year’s EUSA Rowing Championships, Oxford Brookes were winners of the men’s eight – the first time GB had ever won gold in that event. They will look to defend their title this year having won gold by over 4 seconds at BUCS Regatta. Brookes will also send a women’s eight, who were also gold medal winners at BUCS Regatta.

Cambridge were EUSA champions in the women’s eight in 2015 and will also send a crew to contest this event in 2016. Cambridge’s Imogen Grant and Ellie Hopgood who won a silver medal behind an experienced duo from Edinburgh will compete in the lightweight pair at EUSA, the event which they are racing at Henley Women’s Regatta this coming weekend.

A third British women’s eight will travel from Newcastle. The University (winners of the Victor Ludorum at the BUCS Regatta) will also send a lightweight men’s quad and four, both of which were BUCS gold medallists, and a men’s four looking to maintain their title of EUSA Champions from 2015 and 2014.

Emma McDonald from Glasgow was a clear winner at BUCS Regatta and, having gained experience of EUSA in the double last year, will race in the lightweight single this year. Emma’s sister, Laura, will form part of a large squad from Edinburgh and will race in the lightweight women’s double, one of five boats from Edinburgh.

Reading will also send a strong contingent of scullers which will include Sam Twine, gold medallist in the BUCS Championship single and a strong lightweight women’s quad who won silver at BUCS.

In addition to the Universities who have regularly been part of the GB Universities Rowing team over the last few years, this year’s team will include crews from Bristol, Queen’s University Belfast, Nottingham, Nottingham Trent and Loughborough.

Full details of the 2016 European Universities Games can be seen at:

Progress of the GB Universities Team can be followed via Twitter @GBUniversities.

GB Universities Rowing Team 2016


University of Bath (M2x)

Luke Gwenter, Tom Mapp


University of Bristol (LwtW4x)

Isabella Burdess, Charlotte Rogers, Emma Perkins, Teuntje Tissen,


University of Cambridge (W8, W2-, LwtW2-)

Nicole Abernethy (Cox), Ashton Brown, Rachel Elwood, Myriam Goudet, Imogen Grant, Ellie Hopgood, Fiona Macklin, Daphne Martschenko, Hannah Roberts, Alexandra Wood.


Durham University (W2x, W4x, LwtM1x, LwtM4x, M4x, M4-)

Andrew Aitchison, Chetan Chauhan-Smith, Neil Connel, Megan Connolly, Ben Evans, Alex Fisher, Stephen Griffiths, Matthew Grozier, Grabriella Hatfield, Hanna Inntjore, Helena Lang, Leon Langmead, Amy Polglase, Max Robinson, Matthew Roe, James Vogel, Ben Weston, Ros Wilson.


University of Edinburgh (LwtW2x, W4x, W4-, LwtM1x, M2-)

Emily Bissett, Flora Blake-Parsons, Emily Bowie, Mairi Buchan, Amelia Donovan, Sebastian Glen, Lauren Gray, Laura McDonald, Anne Rodahl, Jenny Stevenson, James Temple, Kieran Tierney, Amy White


University of Glasgow (LwtW1x)

Emma McDonald


University of London (M2-)

Patrick Boomer, Charles Middleton.


Loughborough University (W1x, W2x, M4x)

Caitlin Boyland, Annie Campbell, Alexander Evangelidis, Max Hearnden, Fleur Tavare, Josh Tolley, Alex Watkins.


Newcastle University (W4x, W8, LwtM4x, LwtM4-, M4-)

Joe Anderson, Megan Barry, Lydia Davis, Natasha Harris-White, Charlotte Hill (cox), Grace Hockenhull, Thomas Huthinson, Thomas James, Rory Kempson, Alex Slater, Imogen Leigh, Matilda Martin, Tom Mountain Georgina Mulraine, William New, George Patrick, James Robson, Jack Smith, James Stevenson, Kelsey Stoddart, Barnaby Stroud-Turp.


University of Nottingham (W4-, LM4-)

Eleanor Ball, James Budenburg, Jessica Eastwood, Freya George, Adam Giambrone, Thomas Glover, Amber Hickson, Robert Muscroft.


Nottingham Trent University (LM4x)

Hamish Bott, Chris Dove, Sam Geller, Jack McGarva.


University of Oxford (W1x, LwtW4x)

W1x – Flo Pickles, LW4x – to be selected from: Laure Bonfils, Danielle Edmunds, Jowita Mieszkowska, Alba Pellaroque, Anna Robotham, Jenny Tran.


Oxford Brookes University (W8, LM2x, M8)

Jessica Brown, Charlie Clarke (cox), Christie Duff, George Eden, Jo Gannon, Will Hall, Louise Hart, Richard Hawkins, Oliver Hayward, Emily Herridge, Matthew Hnatiw, Richard Hume, Grace Macdonald, Mirella Mcgee, Alice McWilliam (cox), Oliver Morgan, Ben Murphy, Danielle Shrosbree, James Stanhope, Henry Swarbrick.


Queen’s University Belfast (M2x)

Phil Doyle, Tiernan Oliver


University of Reading (LwtW2x, LwtW4x, M1x, M2x, LwtM2x)

Francessca Bratt, Oliver Dix, Amy Fuller, Franklin Hamilton, Katy Ratcliffe, Anna Smart, Dom Tope, Sam Twine, Simon Williamson.

Management Team

James Lee – Team Manager

Katy Young – Assistant Team Manager

Fiona Rennie – Finance Assistant

Matt Evans – Support Team

Peter Jones – Support Team


Ed Bloomfield – Bristol

Nick Acock – Cambridge

Patrick Ryan – Cambridge

Laura Richardson – Durham

Ian Shore – Durham

John Higson – Edinburgh

Iain Docwra – Glasgow

Nicola Spencer – Loughborough

Dez Atkins – Loughborough

Alex Leigh – Newcastle

Ciro Prisco – Newcastle

John McKirdy – Nottingham

David O’Sullivan – Nottingham

Ashlew Hewitt – Nottingham Trent

Chris O’Hara – Oxford (Lightweights)

Ali Williams – Oxford

Allan French – Oxford Brookes

Will Rand – Reading

Sean Casey – Reading