Strong GB Team begins competing in Zagreb

The squad of 127 rowers and 19 coaches has arrived in Zagreb, Croatia ready to compete at the European Universities Games.


The composite team, which is from 15 different Universities, is the largest British team since 2010, the year in which GB last won the prestigious EUSA Salver.

Commenting on the squad, Team Manager James Lee said “I am pleased that we have got a very strong squad here, but we are not the only ones. We are expecting there to be some excellent racing.”

Newcastle have the most athletes in the team and are being represented in the women’s eight, men’s four, lightweight men’s four and lightweight men’s quad. Newcastle have won the men’s four at the last two EUSA Rowing Championships. The crew which includes William New and James Robson, who made the final of the Prince Albert Challenge Cup at this year’s Henley Royal Regatta (HRR) will be looking to defend that title.

It was Edinburgh, however, who beat Newcastle in the HRR final and two of that crew are competing at the Games. James Temple will race in the lightweight single with Kiernen Tierney in the coxless pair alongside Sebastien Glen. That event will also feature British opposition with a strong pairing of Patrick Boomer and Charles Middleton from University of London.

Oxford Brookes will look to maintain their title as men’s eight champions with their crew which is to be stroked by James Stanhope who stroked their crew to a Henley Royal victory last week. Brookes also have a women’s eight competing at the Games who have had a solid season following their gold at the British Universities and College Sport (BUCS) Regatta in May.

Brookes are one of three British women’s eights at the Regatta with Cambridge and Newcastle also racing. The Cambridge crew features half of the 2016 Blue Boat and also Ellie Hopgood and Imogen Grant who won Elite Lightweight pairs at Henley Women’s Regatta who will also race the pair at the EUSA Games.

The Newcastle women’s eight are looking to follow-up their win in the academic eight at Henley Women’s Regatta this season.

Full details of the 2016 European Universities Games can be seen at:

Progress of the GB Universities Team can be followed via Twitter @GBUniversities.

GB Universities Rowing Team 2016

University of Bath

M2x Luke Gwenter, Tom Mapp.

University of Bristol

LW4x Isabella Burdess, Charlotte Rogers, Emma Perkins, Teuntje Tissen.

University of Cambridge

W8+ Nicole Abernethy (Cox), Rachel Elwood, Myriam Goudet, Imogen Grant, Ellie Hopgood, Fiona Macklin, Daphne Martschenko, Hannah Roberts, Alexandra Wood,

W2- Hannah Roberts, Myriam Goudet,

W2- Imogen Grant, Ellie Hopgood.

Durham University

W2x Ros Wilson, Hanna Inntjore,

W4x Grabriella Hatfield, Helena Lang, Megan Connolly, Amy Polglase,

LM1x Stephen Griffiths,

LM4x Alex Fisher, Leon Langmead James Vogel, Ben Weston,

M4x Neil Connel, Ben Evans, Matthew Grozier, Matthew Roe,

M4- Andrew Aitchison, Max Robinson, Will Toogood, Dan Gorenkin.

University of Edinburgh

LW2x Emily Bissett, Laura McDonald,

W4x Emily Bowie, Mairi Buchan, Lauren Gray, Anne Rodahl,

W4- Flora Blake-Parsons, Amelia Donovan, Jenny Stevenson, Amy White,

LM1x James Temple,

M2- Kieren Tierney, Sebastien Glen.

University of Glasgow

LW1x Emma McDonald.

University of London

M2- Patrick Boomer, Charles Middleton.

Loughborough University

W1x Caitlin Boyland,

W2x Annie Campbell-Orde, Fleur Tavare,

M4x Alexander Evangelidis, Max Hearnden, Josh Tolley, Alex Watkins.

Newcastle University

W8+ Megan Barry, Lydia Davis, Natasha Harris-White, Grace Hockenhull, Imogen Leigh, Matilda Martin, Georgina Mulraine, Kelsey Stoddart, Charlotte Hill (cox),

LM4x Thomas Huthinson, Rory Kempson, Jack Smith, James Stevenson,

LM4- Joe Anderson, Tom Mountain, George Patrick, Barnaby Stroud-Turp,

M4- Thomas James, Alex Slater, William New, James Robson.

University of Nottingham

W4- Eleanor Ball, Jessica Eastwood, Freya George, Amber Hickson,

LM4- James Budenburg, Adam Giambrone, Thomas Glover, Robert Muscroft.

Nottingham Trent University

LM4x Hamish Bott, Chris Dove, Sam Geller, Jack McGarva.

University of Oxford

W1x Flo Pickles,

LW4x Laure Bonfils, Danielle Edmunds, Jowita Mieszkowska, Anna Robotham.

Oxford Brookes University

W8+ Jessica Brown, Susie Dear, Christie Duff, Jo Gannon, Emily Herridge, Grace Macdonald, Mirella Mcgee, Danielle Shrosbree, Alice McWilliam (cox),

LM2x Oliver Hayward, Oliver Morgan,

M8+ Charlie Clarke (cox), George Eden, Will Hall, Richard Hawkins, Matthew Hnatiw, Richard Hume, Ben Murphy, James Stanhope, Henry Swarbrick.

Queen’s University Belfast

M2x Philip Doyle, Tiernan Oliver

University of Reading

LW2x Francessca Bratt, Amy Fuller,

LW4x Francessca Bratt, Amy Fuller, Katy Ratcliffe, Anna Smart,

M1x Sam Twine,

M2x Oliver Dix, Dom Tope,

LM2x Franklin Hamilton, Simon Williamson.

Management Team and Coaches

James Lee – Team Manager


Katy Young – Assistant Team Manager

Fiona Rennie – Finance Assistant

Matt Evans – Support Team

Peter Jones – Support Team

Patrick Hudson – Driver

Brendan Gliddon – Driver


Ed Bloomfield – Bristol

Nick Acock – Cambridge

Patrick Ryan – Cambridge

Laura Richardson – Durham

Ian Shore – Durham

Tom Young – Edinburgh

Iain Docwra – Glasgow

Nicola Spencer – Loughborough

Dez Atkins – Loughborough

Alex Leigh – Newcastle

Ciro Prisco – Newcastle

John McKirdy – Nottingham

David O’Sullivan – Nottingham

Ashley Hewitt – Nottingham Trent

Chris O’Hara – Oxford (Lightweights)

Ali Williams – Oxford

Allan French – Oxford Brookes

Will Rand – Reading

Sean Casey – Reading

Support our sport with a Community membership

Our new Community membership supports those who support rowing with exclusive prizes, discounts and much, much more.

Join today!