British Rowing’s Volunteer and Coach of the Year of Award winners announced

Congratulations to the volunteers and coaches who have been recognised by our awards – they will be honoured at an awards lunch on 4 February.

British Rowing is delighted to be able to announce the winners of the 2016 Volunteer and Coach of the Year Awards

Very many congratulations to all!

Coach of the Year Awards

Club Performance (winner): Rachel Hooper – Northwich RC

Club Performance (commended): Noelle Stallard – Broxbourne RC

Education Performance: Christopher O’Hara – Oxford University Lwt Women’s BC

Education Development: Steve O’Connor – Fulham Reach BC

Club Development: Phil Gunning – Cantabrigian RC

Coaching Team (winner): Chester le Street RC

Coaching Team (commended): Warrington RC

A special lifetime achievement award goes to Steven Kent of Caradon Pilot Gig Club and the CPGA for his huge contribution to rowing in the West.

Volunteer Awards

East Region Open: Simon Clark – Star Club

East Region Young Person: Nathan Day – Broxbourne RC

East Region Club Admin: Simon Emmings – Chesterton RC

East Region Event Admin: Paul Haines – Cantabrigian RC

East Mids Region Overall: Phil Latka – Boston RC

North Region Young Person: Ryan Bewick – Durham School BC

North Region Event Admin: Richard Mortimer – Durham Regatta

North Region Open: Nicci Slipman – Hexham RC

North West Region Young Person: Emily Harding – Manchester University Boat Club

North West Region Club Admin: Jade Thomson – Lakeland RC

North West Region Club (Open): Emily Howe – Windermere RC

North West Region Overall: Andy Greenwell – Runcorn RC

Thames Region Safety: Steve O’Connor – Fulham Reach BC

Thames Region Open: John Bosco Ridge – Reading RC

Thames Region Event Admin: Tony (A.J.) Evans – Marlow Regatta

Thames Region Club Admin: Susan Pictor – Putney Town RC

Yorks Region Overall: John Sparrow – York City RC

Yorks Region Club Admin: Charlotte Wilkinson – Hull Kingston RC

Yorks Region Young Person: Amy Hopson – Hull Kingston RC

Yorks Region Open: Chris Whitehead – City of Sheffield RC

Yorks Region Event Admin: Julie McLeish – Guy Fawkes BC

WAGS Region Open: Stephen Rose – Gloucester RC

WAGS Region Club Admin: Ann Hallett – Taunton RC

Safety Winner: Andrea Worley – Wimbleball RC

The awards lunch is being held at the River & Rowing Museum in Henley on Thames on 4 February.  This year’s guest speaker and further details for all our guests will be announced after the Christmas break. There will be photographs and full coverage in Rowing & Regatta and the British Rowing Almanack in due course.