GB Rowing Team announced for World Rowing Cup III

49 athletes have been selected to race at the World Rowing Cup III in Lucerne (7-9 July)


The sixteen Olympic class boats racing include the return of four crews who won gold at World Cup II in June in Varese. These were the Men’s Pair (M2-) of Ollie Wynne-Griffith and Tom George, the Men’s four (M4-) of Oli Wilkes, David Ambler, Matt Aldridge and Freddie Davidson and the men’s eight (M8+) of Will Stewart, Morgan Bolding, Jacob Dawson, Sholto Carnegie, Rory Gibbs, Tom Digby, James Rudkin, Tom Ford and cox, Harry Brightmore. Emily Craig and Imogen Grant also return in the Lightweight women’s double sculls (LW2x) after winning gold and securing a World Best time in Varese.

Commenting on the team selection for World Rowing Cup III, Louise Kingsley, British Rowing Director of Performance said: “World Rowing Cup III is our last chance to build on our earlier performances ahead of the World Rowing Championships in Belgrade in September. We have some crews who are going into this event unbeaten and some which are still learning and refining as we look to qualify as many boats as possible for the Paris 2024 Olympics in Belgrade.”

World Cup II bronze medallists, Callum Dixon, George Bourne, Matt Haywood and Tom Barras are unchanged in the Men’s quadruple sculls (M4x). Aidan Thompson will return with John Collins in the Men’s Double sculls (M2x). Tobias Schröder will race in the Men’s single sculls.

Kyra Edwards will race in the Women’s single sculls (W1x). Lucy Glover, Georgie Brayshaw, Hannah Scott and Lauren Henry will be looking to improve on the World Cup II silver medal in the Women’s quadruple sculls (W4x), while Olivia Bates will be looking to build on her World Cup bronze in the Lightweight women’s single sculls (LW1x).

Returning silver medallists at the European championships and also in Varese will be the Women’s four (W4-) of Helen Glover, Heidi Long, Sam Redgrave and Rebecca Shorten and the Women’s Eight (W8+) of Natasha Morrice, Rowan McKellar, Lauren Irwin, Karen Bennett, Esme Booth, Emily Ford, Hattie Taylor, Annie Campbell-Orde and cox, Henry Fieldman.

The Women’s pair (W2-) will be Chloe Brew and Juliette Perry.

Finally, also racing at World Rowing Cup III will be a second Men’s four (M4-) of Dan Graham, Sam Nunn, Sam Bannister and James Robson as GBR2.

You can follow the World Cup III action live across British Rowing social media channels and on BBC iPlayer and website.

The Great Britain crews racing at the World Rowing Cup III 2023 are:

Women’s Crews

The women’s team are coached by Andrew Randell, James Harris, Darren Whiter and Rich Chambers.

Women’s pair (W2-)
Juliette Perry (Leander Club)
Chloe Brew (Leander Club)

Women’s four (W4-)
Helen Glover (Marlow RC)
Heidi Long (Leander Club)
Rowan McKellar (Leander Club)
Rebecca Shorten (Imperial College BC)

Women’s eight (W8+)
Natasha Morrice (Leander Club)
Rebecca Edwards (Leander Club)
Lauren Irwin (Leander Club)
Karen Bennett (Leander Club)
Esme Booth (Leander Club)
Emily Ford (Leander Club)
Hattie Taylor (Leander Club)
Annie Campbell-Orde (Leander Club)
Henry Fieldman (cox) (Leander Club)

Women’s single sculls (W1x)
Kyra Edwards (Nottingham RC)

Lightweight women’s single sculls (LW1x)
Olivia Bates (Nottinghamshire County RA)

Lightweight women’s double sculls (LW2x)
Emily Craig (University of London BC)
Imogen Grant (Cambridge University BC)

Women’s quadruple sculls (W4x)
Lauren Henry (Leicester RC/University of Leicester BC)
Hannah Scott (Bann RC/Leander Club)
Lucy Glover (Edinburgh University BC/Warrington RC)
Georgie Brayshaw (Leander Club)

Men’s Crews

Men’s pair (M2-)
Ollie Wynne-Griffith (Leander Club/Cambridge University BC)
Tom George (Leander Club/Cambridge University BC)
Coach: Dan Moore

Men’s four (M4-) GBR1
Oli Wilkes (Oxford Brookes University BC)
David Ambler (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Matt Aldridge (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Freddie Davidson (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Coach: Christian Felkel

Men’s four (M4-) GBR2
Dan Graham (Leander Club)
Sam Nunn (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Sam Bannister (Oxford Brookes University BC)
James Robson (Leander Club)
Coach: John Gearing

Men’s eight (M8+)
Will Stewart (Leander Club)
Morgan Bolding (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Jacob Dawson (Leander Club/Plymouth ARC)
Sholto Carnegie (Leander Club)
Rory Gibbs (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Tom Digby (Oxford Brookes University BC)
James Rudkin (Newcastle University BC)
Tom Ford (Leander Club)
Harry Brightmore (cox) (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Coach: Steve Trapmore

Men’s single sculls (M1x)
Tobias Schröder (Leander Club)
Coach: Dan Moore

Men’s double sculls (M2x)
Aidan Thompson (Twickenham RC/University of Surrey BC)
John Collins (Leander Club)
Coach: Dan Moore

Men’s quadruple sculls (M4x)
Callum Dixon (Twickenham RC)
George Bourne (Leander Club)
Matt Haywood (Nottingham RC)
Tom Barras (Leander Club/Burway RC)
Coach: Paul Stannard

World Rowing Cup III Team Management, Coaching and Support staff

Louise Kingsley: Team Leader
Jo Bates: Team Manager
Maurice Hayes: Resources Manager
Andrew Randell: Head Coach – Women
James Harris: Women’s Coach
Darren Whiter: Women’s Coach
Rich Chambers: Women’s Coach
Paul Stannard: Head Coach – Men
Dan Moore: Men’s Coach
Steve Trapmore: Men’s Coach
Christian Felkel: Men’s Coach
John Gearing: Men’s Coach
Ann Redgrave: Doctor
Penny Stern: Physiotherapist – Women
Sam Whittaker: Physiotherapist – Men
Lizzie Jacobs: Sports Science
Molly Lloyd-Jones: Sports Science
Sophie Bashford: Psychologist
Jodi Cossor: Performance Support
Peter Morris: Performance Support
Shelley Wyatt: Communications and Media

Support our sport with a Community membership

Our new Community membership supports those who support rowing with exclusive prizes, discounts and much, much more.

Join today!